Referee List World Cup 2018


The World Cup 2018 will kick off in just a few weeks’ time and if you’re a regular GoWin reader, then you may have noticed that we’re all getting involved! Over the past couple of weeks we’ve been creating a huge World Cup guide, which should fill you in on everything you need to know about this year’s international footballing tournament.

In every World Cup there is almost inevitably a refereeing decision which leads to much outcry and indignation from footballing fans across the globe. Whilst it may feel unfair to some fans, it definitely proves one thing; aside from the footballers themselves, there is one other man who can seriously impact a match; the referee.

Thirty six referees have been appointed by FIFA for the World Cup 2018, and sixty three assistant referees will also be present. Read on to find out more about all the referees who will be at the World Cup 2018, including how they were chosen and where they are from.

How are the World Cup 2018 Referees Selected?

According to FIFA, the referees chosen for this year’s World Cup have all been selected ‘based on each referee’s skills and personality, as well as his level of understanding of football and ability to read both the game and the various tactics employed by teams’.

What this means is, essentially, all the officials at the World Cup 2018 will be experienced in overseeing international matches and are to be trusted.

The World Cup 2018 referees are also chosen from across all of the six continental federations that operate under FIFA; the AFC, CAF, CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, OFC, AND UEFA. The allocation from each confederation, however, is not strictly equal, but FIFA do ensure that at least a couple of referees are selected from each.

In the 2018 World Cup, there will be six referees present from each of the AFC, CAF, CONCACAF and CONMEBOL confederations, whilst there will be 10 UEFA based referees, and 2 officials from the OFC confederation too.

Who Are The World Cup 2018 Referees?

Below you can find out each World Cup 2018 referee’s name, country and which confederation they belong to.

Referee Confederation Country
Fahad Al-Mirdasi AFC Saudi Arabia
Alireza Faghani AFC Iran
Ravshan Irmatov AFC Uzbekistan
Mohammed Abdulla Mohamed AFC United Arab Emirates
Ryuji Sato AFC Japan
Nawaf Abdulla Shukralla AFC Bahrain
Medhi Abid Sharef CAF Algeria
Malang Diedhiou CAF Senegal
Bakary Papa Gassama CAF Gambia
Ghead Grisha CAF Egypt
Janny Sigazwe CAF Zambia
Bamlak Tessema Wayesa CAF Ethiopa
Joel Aguilar CONCACAF El Salvador
Ricardo Montero CONCACAF Costa Rica
John Pitti CONCACAF Panama
Cesar Arturo Ramos Palazuelos CONCACAF Mexico
Julio Bascunan CONMEBOL Chile
Enrique Caceres CONMEBOL Paraguay
Andres Cunha CONMEBOL Uruguay
Nestor Pitana CONMEBOL Argentina
Sandro Ricci CONMEBOL Brazil
Wilmar Roldan CONMEBOL Colombia
Matthew Conger OFC New Zealand
Norbert Hauata OFC Tahiti
Felix Brych UEFA Germany
Cuneyt Cakir UEFA Turkey
Sergey Karasev UEFA Russia
Bjorn Kuipers UEFA Netherlands
Szymon Marciniak UEFA Poland
Antonio Miguel Mateu Lahoz UEFA Spain
Milorad Mazic UEFA Serbia
Gianluca Rocchi UEFA Italy
Damir Skomina UEFA Slovenia
Clement Turpin UEFA France