Man of the Match Awards Odds World Cup 2018

Within every World Cup tournament, there are some footballers that stand out from the crowd. Sometimes, these are players who have already made a name for themselves at League level or who have enjoyed international success in the past, and some who are deemed breakout stars, for who the competition can propel their careers to new heights.

Although, ultimately, every international footballer’s main dream is to lift the trophy for their country, there are also secondary prizes on offer. Strikers may wish to win the Golden Boot prize for top goal scorer, whilst goalies from across the world will be keen to get their hands on the Golden Glove prize for top goalkeeper. For those who play midfield or in defence, or anywhere else for that matter, becoming the recipient of the Golden Ball prize for best player of the tournament is a definite aim.

Perhaps a little more modest that the Golden Ball is the Man of the Match award. This is given out at the end of every World Cup finals match, and it is awarded to the player who has performed the best throughout the 90 minutes.

How is the Man of the Match Selected?

The Man of the Match award picks out the outstanding player in every game of the tournament and has existed since 2002. In both the 2002 and 2006 World Cup tournaments the Man of the Match awards were chosen by a technical group of footballing experts. However, since the 2010 tournament, the winners have been selected via an online poll on the FIFA website.

Where Can I Vote for the Man of the Match?

Ever since the Man of the Match award decision was handed over to the general public, FIFA have ran a poll for the winner on their website.

In the 2018 World Cup, you are able to vote for the Man of the Match via three different platforms:

  • At the website
  • On Twitter
  • Via the FIFA app

How Does the Vote Work and When Does Voting Begin?

The voting process is very straight forward; simply choose the player you feel deserves to win the Man of the Match award, and then vote for them via one of the channels listed above.

The voting opens during each World Cup 2018 match, as soon as the first half ends. You will then have until the end of the match to vote, and to even alter your vote if you change your mind.

Past Man of the Match Winners

Below you can find all the information about which players have won the most Man of the Match awards since it began in 2002.

World Cup Player With Most Man of the Match Wins No. of Wins
2002 South Korea/Japan Rivaldo 3
2006 Germany Andrea Pirlo 3
2010 South Africa Wesley Sneijder 4
2014 Brazil Lionel Messi 4

Man of the Match World Cup 2018 Odds

Ahead of the beginning of the competition, there is currently no UK bookmakers offering odds on the Man of the Match prize. However, once the matches themselves get underway, we expect it to be offered as an in-play market, since it can only be decided after the first half of the match.