Golden Glove Award Odds World Cup 2018

Here at GoWin casino we are all gearing up for the World Cup. In less than a month the World Cup will be under way, and we cannot wait!

Let’s take a moment to think about the men standing between the goalposts. Often the unsung players on the pitch, goalkeepers are absolutely key in any team. If you look back at the greatest football teams they almost always had a quality goalkeeper, which gave the sides a solid foundation to build from.

The Golden Glove award is Fifa’s way of recognising the best goalkeeper at the World Cup. Just like the Golden Ball award, it is an award which on an individual level is pretty special.

In this article we will look at the goalkeepers we feel are most likely to win the award. Sky Bet were the only sports betting site we could find who are currently offering a market to bet on the goalkeeper who will win the Golden Glove award. We have included the Sky Bet odds for each of the following goalkeepers to win the Golden Glove award.

Golden Glove Award World Cup 2018

Manuel Neuer

Neuer won the Golden Glove award in Brazil four years ago, along with the World Cup itself. Neuer is generally considered to be the best goalkeeper in the world when fully fit, possessing all the attributes a modern-day goalkeeper needs: a big and imposing presence, fantastic shot-stopper, commanding, good reflexes and very comfortable on the ball, Neuer has it all.

However, Neuer’s season at club level has been hampered by injury. In September of last year, it was revealed that Neuer had suffered another fracture in the same foot he fractured in the latter part of the 2016-2017 season. Neuer returned to training with his club, Bayern Munich, in April but has not played a match since September.

This lack of game time could affect his performances for Germany at the World Cup. Although Neuer is an outstanding goalkeeper, we don’t think he will win the award this time round.

David De Gea

De Gea has been the best performer for his club Manchester United for the past three seasons. He is currently arguably the best goalkeeper in the world. He is remarkably agile and is capable of pulling off truly wonderful saves. He has saved Manchester United in matches on numerous occasions over the past few seasons.

Spain’s defence is solid, and we think it is likely that De Gea will not concede many goals in Russia. All the signs are pointing to the former Atletico Madrid man having a fantastic World Cup.

We recommend betting on De Gea to win the Golden Glove award. De Gea is down at 4/1 which are good odds in our book.

Alisson Becker

Becker has established himself as a world-class goalkeeper this season, which is not exactly a common thing for a Brazilian goalkeeper. He has been excellent for Roma and his fantastic performances were key in Roma getting to the semi-finals in the Champions League.

An agile shot-stopper with solid hands, Becker could well enjoy a similarly impressive World Cup for Brazil.

The odds are 9/2 on Becker winning the award. This represents pretty good value.

Hugo Lloris

Lloris has been fantastic for a few seasons now with Tottenham Hotspur. A great shot-stopper with quick reflexes, Lloris has continued to impress in England. The French defence is generally a tight and well organised one, meaning Lloris could definitely enjoy a clean sheet or two at the World Cup.

Hugo Lloris’s odds to win the Golden Glove are 5/1. We think these are good odds and for the punter type of better, Lloris is probably the goalkeeper to opt for to win the Golden Glove award.

Thibaut Courtois

Courtois has been performing at a high level for some time now, both for Atletico Madrid and Chelsea. The Belgian giant is a confident and imposing goalkeeper who commands his box well. Belgium could definitely go far at the World Cup and with good performances at the back from Courtois, this will help them on their journey.

Courtois is down at odds of 7/1 which can seem quite tempting. However, Belgium do concede goals which might be a worry for potential betters.

Of course, you can bet on any of the goalkeepers at the competition to win the award, but we feel that the winner will be among these five. You cannot go wrong with betting on one of these keepers. Then again, this is the World Cup, maybe a new goalkeeper will take centre stage!