England Starting Eleven

Many countries have already announced their 23 squad line-up, even though they have until 4th June to do so. England are one of those teams, eager to be punctual, and from this list we can try and predict who will be the starting 11 among their ranks.

The 23 English players heading to Russia for the World Cup are as follows:

  • Butland, Pickford, Alexander-Arnold, Cahill, Jones, Maguire, Rose, Stones, Trippier, Walker, Young, Alli, Delph, Dier, Henderson, Lingard, Loftus-Cheek, Sterling, Kane, Rashford, Vardy, Welbeck

Of these 23 players, only 11 can take part in England’s first match against Tunisia. While manager Gareth Southgate has yet to announce who will be the 11 starters, we can make predictions based off the performances and choices of the manager as well as the players in the past.

Here are our predictions as to who will start England off in the World Cup:

  • Pickford
  • Maguire
  • Stones
  • Walker
  • Trippier
  • Dier
  • Rose
  • Sterling
  • Alli
  • Kane

This really is the best that England has to offer and if they cannot beat Tunisia then it looks as though we’ll see an early exit for England. Finger’s crossed that Gareth Southgate has chosen the right people for the job.