Costa Rica Starting Eleven

The Costa Rican team will be a tough team to beat. The team finished the 2014 World Cup at quarter finals and qualified last year with two games to spare. Yet, some believe that the latest team is not up to the same standards as in Brazil 2014.

Their “golden generation” has already had their best years pass them by. Will they place in the final eight teams again? Only time will tell, but this team definitely has the quality to reach the knockout phase.

For starters, here are the 23 players on Costa Rica’s international team:

Keylor Navas, Patrick Pemberton, Leonel Moreira, Cristian Gamboa, Ian Smith, Ronald Matarrita, Bryan Oviedo, Oscar Duarte, Giancarlo Gonzalez, Francisco Calvo, Kendall Waston, Johnny Acosta, David Guzman, Yeltsin Tejeda, Celso Borges, Randall Azofeifa, Rodney Wallace, Bryan Ruiz, Daniel Colindres, Christian Bolanos, Johan Venegas, Joel Campbell, Marco Urena.

We believe that these 11 players will form Costa Rica’s starting lineup against Serbia.

  • Navas
  • Gamboa
  • Zwane
  • Duarte
  • Borges
  • Ruiz
  • Tejeda
  • Urena

Oscar Ramirez continued to deploy his predecessor, Jorge Luis Pinto’s 5-4-1 formation that has served them so well. The formation has Bryan Ruiz as the main reference in attack and Borges balancing that in midfield. Keylor Navas from Madrid will then lead the team to victory.