Costa Rica Squad

World Cup quarter-finalists, Costa Rica is back. Can The Ticos repeat their previous success? Back in 2014, they won in a group that also included England, Uruguay and Italy! This time, Costa Rica plays in the same group as Brazil, Switzerland and Serbia.

Everyone is looking at their final 23-man World Cup closely. There are veterans from 2014 such as Navas, Giancarlo Gonzalez and Bryan Ruiz; but a surprise absence (Ulises Segura who had regularly played with coach, Oscar Ramirez in the past year).

Anyway, without further ado, here are the 23 players in Costa Rica’s World Cup 2018 team.



1 Keylor Navas Real Madrid Goalkeeper
2 Patrick Pemberton LDA Goalkeeper
3 Leonel Moreira Herediano Goalkeeper
 4 Cristian Gamboa Celtic Defender
5 Ian Smith Norrkoping Defender
6 Ronald Matarrita NYCFC Defender
7 Bryan Oviedo Sunderland Defender
8 Oscar Duarte Espanyol Defender
9 Giancarlo Gonzalez Bologna Defender
10 Francisco Calvo Minnesota United Defender
11 Kendall Waston Vancouver Whitecaps Defender
12 Johnny Acosta Aguilas Dorados Defender
13 David Guzman Portland Timbers Midfielder
14 Yeltsin Tejeda Lausanne Midfielder
15 Celso Borges Deportivo La Coruna Midfielder
16 Randall Azofeifa Herediano Midfielder
17 Rodney Wallace NYCFC Midfielder
18 Bryan Ruiz Sporting Lisbon Midfielder
19 Daniel Colindres Saprissa Midfielder
20 Christian Bolanos Saprissa Midfielder
21 Johan Venegas Saprissa Forward
22 Joel Campbell Real Betis Forward
23 Marco Urena LAFC Forward

Costa Rica World Cup 2018 Squad: Top Goal Scorer

It could very well be Bryan Ruiz, who was a key player in Costa Rica’s run to the quarter finals in 2014. Ruiz scored three goals in the qualifying season for Russia 2018.