Past Winners


With the World Cup 2018 kicking off in just a few weeks’ time, here at GoWin we’ve complied a complete World Cup guide for you which is filled with information on the teams competing, the footballers who will be travelling to Russia, the match fixtures and much, much, more.

In doing this we not only hope to fill your brains with enough knowledge to not only fuel many conversations with football fans this summer, but also to make sure all GoWin online gamblers can place smart, informed bets on the tournament.

In this article, we’re taking a look at the history of the FIFA World Cup as a whole, and discussing which teams and players have performed well in previous tournaments. As well as discussing the past winners of the FIFA World Cup, we’ll also be talking about how you can place a bet based around these facts.

Past Winners of the FIFA Football World Cup

The Football World Cup, which is now more commonly known as the FIFA World Cup, started way back when in 1930. The first World Cup took place in Uruguay and only 13 teams competed. Uruguay went on to also be the first ever World Cup Champions, defeating Argentina in the final match.

Since then, twenty World Cups have taken place, and eight different teams have been crowned champions.

Year Host Winner
1930 Uruguay Uruguay
1934 Italy Italy
1938 France Italy
1950 Brazil Uruguay
1954 Switzerland West Germany
1958 Sweden Brazil
1962 Chile Brazil
1966 England England
1970 Mexico Brazil
1974 West Germany West Germany
1978 Argentina Argentina
1982 Spain Italy
1986 Mexico Argentina
1990 Italy West Germany
1994 USA Brazil
1998 France France
2002 Japan & South Korea Brazil
2006 Germany Italy
2010 South Africa Spain
2014 Brazil Germany

Which Country Has Won The FIFA World Cup The Most Times?

As we’ve just mentioned, although there has been twenty football World Cups since the tournament’s inception in 1930, only eight different countries have been crowed the winners.

Brazil have won the competition five times in total (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002) and therefore are the most successful FIFA World Cup team. Both Germany and Italy have also won four world cups each, and Uruguay and Argentina have both won two competitions.

Team No. of Times Winners Year of Win(s)
Brazil 5 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
Germany 4 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014
Italy 4 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006
Argentina 2 1978, 1986
Uruguay 2 1930, 1950
England 1 1966
Spain 1 2010

Who Is the World Cup’s All-Time Top Goal Scorer?

The top all-time goal scorer in the history of the World Cup is Miroslav Klose, who scored 16 goals for Germany in four tournaments. Brazilian legend Ronaldo is the second highest all-time goal scorer in the World Cup, having scored 15 goals within three tournaments. The German footballer, Gerd Muller, however is arguably the most successful goal scorer in the history of the World Cup, having scored 14 goals in just two tournaments.

Thomas Muller is the only active international player to have scored over 10 goals in the World Cup, and he has only played in two tournaments so far. He will surely be hoping to rack up some more in Russia, giving him the chance to work on his record!

What Bets Can You Place on Past Winners?

With the World Cup 2018 beginning on the 14th June, we know that many keen online gamblers and sports bettors will already be considering their betting options this summer. For those who are either feeling nostalgic, or love to back up their bets with history, the good news is that there’s several betting markets based around past winners.

Here are some examples of some betting markets based around past winners:

  • Chances of a First Time Winner (A team that has never been named champions before)
  • Chances of a Previous Champion Winning
  • Chances of a New Continent Winning