With the Tour De France just days away, cycling enthusiasts are bubbling with anticipation. Which riders will win? Which teams will lead? Will there be surprises? If yes, Trek-Segafredo could be one team to deliver some.

Not because they’re a very strong team, though. It’s because nobody expects a lot from this team today, though it certainly isn’t the weakest. After all, they were third in Tour de France last year.

Let’s view their current situation, focusing on information that YOU need. Everything below is relevant to cycling gamblers and all sports betting enthusiasts, so keep up.

Bet on Trek-Segafredo at Bet365

Trek-Segafredo to Win Tour de France?

Despite decent results in the previous seasons and races, Trek-Segafredo isn’t at its height today. So our experts don’t see them winning Tour de France. This stands true in all classifications, including team, points and general.

After all, there have been some changes in the team in the recent seasons. This left the team worse off. So if they want to aim for the top, they’ll have to strengthen their ranks once again.

Maybe they can start Tour de France next year with better cards in hand. For now, the lack of the top-class riders is noticeable.

Bet on Trek-Segafredo at Bethard

Trek-Segafredo Team Predictions 2018

Our predictions would be better if the team had stronger domestique riders. However, we see average world-class riders like Michael Gogl and Toms Skujiņš instead.

Trek-Segafredo would be stronger if they still had Alberto Contador in their ranks. Even if he retired only this year, after joining the team a year ago, he’d still improve the team.

The team is also less powerful without Fabian Cancellara, who retired after the 2016 season. Fabio Felline and Giacomo Nizzolo are still in the team but aren’t in shape. All this drops the team odds in general.

Anyway, the things aren’t hopeless and Trek-Segafredo team isn’t the worst of them all. They can still compete for some minor wins, but that’s all we will see this year. Their Tour de France squad includes:

  • Julien Bernard (France)
  • John Degenkolb (Germany)
  • Koen De Kort (The Netherlands)
  • Michael Gogl (Austria)
  • Tsgabu Grmay (Ethiopia)
  • Bauke Mollema (The Netherlands)
  • Toms Skujiņš (Latvia)
  • Jasper Stuyven (Belgium)

Bet on Trek-Segafredo at Bet365

Trek-Segafredo Best 3 Riders

Without Fabio Felline, the three best riders in Trek-Segafredo are:

John Degenkolb

Bauke Mollema

Jasper Stuyven

John Degenkolb is a German classics rider and sprinter. He has won many stages in the Spanish major tour as well as the points classification. With the roads in Tour de France 2018, he could get a few more stage wins too.

Bauke Mollema is an all-rounder from the Netherlands. His best career achievements are the same as Degenkolb’s, though Mollema has more experience. He also has a single Tour de France stage win.

Jasper Stuyven shares the same role with Degenkolb in Trek-Segafredo. While he isn’t as accomplished yet, he might become so. Stuyven has what it takes to stick on Degenkolb’s heels and eventually overtake him.

Bet on Trek-Segafredo at Bethard

Trek-Segafredo Tour De France 2018

Trek-Segafredo isn’t the first cycling team that springs to mind. It was established relatively recently in 2011. It was originally registered as a Luxembourg team but is now officially an American team.

Not that there were many American riders on the team. On the contrary, there are only a few. Others come from all around the world, as you saw above.

  • They have UCI WorldTeam status
  • General manager is Luca Guercilena
  • Team managers are Alain Gollopin, Josu Larrazabal, Dirk Demol, Adriano Baffi, Josu Larrazabal, Luc Meersman, Fabian Cancellara, Yaroslav Popovych

Bet on Trek-Segafredo at Bet365

Trek-Segafredo Team History

Here are the names the team has ridden under over the years:

  • Leopard Trek 2011
  • RadioShack-Nissan 2012
  • RadioShack-Leopard 2013
  • Trek Factory Racing 2014-2015
  • Trek-Segafredo 2016-present

The team was founded as Leopard Trek when it entered the start of the 2011 cycling season. The name changed for the start of the 2012 cycling season into RadioShack Nissan. During this season, RadioShack Nissan won the team classification of the Tour De France.

  • In the 2013 season, Nissan ceased its contract with the team. Chris Horner became the oldest ever rider to win Vuelta a Espana in 2013. This was a fantastic achievement for the team.
  • The 2014 season brought more changes. Trek Bicycle took over the licence and ownership of the squad. The team officially became known as Trek Factory Racing. One notable success back then was Giro d’Italia mountains classification victory for Julian Arredondo.
  • In 2015, Giacomo Nizzolo won the points classification of the Giro d’Italia. In December of 2015, the team underwent another sponsorship change and took on its current name of Trek-Segafredo.
  • In 2016, Nizzolo retained his points classification title at the Giro d’Italia. Fabio Felline won the points classification at the Vuelta a Espana too.

Last season, Trek-Segafredo didn’t perform that well. Bauke Mollema did win stage 15 of the Tour De France, but that’s about it in major races.

Trek-Segafredo is a well-known Tour de France team. But this isn’t their year so we don’t suggest betting on this team.