BMC Racing Team

There will be many teams competing at the Tour de France this year. One of them is BMC Racing Team. It’s not the most popular team, but it has some noteworthy riders.

In this article, we will take a closer look at the BMC Racing Team and their chances. Can they surprise the cycling fans and community? Who are their top riders? You’ll find out soon enough.

Bet on BMC Racing Team at Bethard

Will BMC Team Win Tour de France?

BMC Riding Team isn’t among the strongest teams in Tour de France 2018. They didn’t get many achievements in major tours. Things don’t look much different this year, though there is hope.

We’re talking about some of the riders that have great odds. But can one person lead the whole team to victory? It’s not likely but shall see.

BMC Racing Team Prediction

Our experts don’t see BMC Racing Team achieving a high position in team classification. Instead, some of their individual riders might achieve more in other classifications.

We expect the most from Richie Porte. Of course, they’ll have to work as a team to get him to achieve high results too. However, when it comes to teamwork, we expect more from other teams. These include Team Sky, Movistar, AG2R La Mondiale and similar teams.

If you want to know more about BMC’s riders and what they’re capable of, look below.

Bet on BMC Racing Team at Bet365

Top 3 Most Popular Riders

In 2015, the BMC racing team signed the talented Australian rider Richie Porte from team Sky. Porte is probably the best rider in the BMC Racing team. He has been in excellent form this year, despite a bout of illness in the spring.

He is currently wearing the yellow jersey at the Tour de Suisse. He’s in great form heading into the Tour De France. So great, in fact, that he can aim to win the yellow jersey at the Tour De France.

Belgian Greg Can Avermaet is another top rider in the team. He could be called a veteran of professional cycling. Being 33-years-old, he has been winning various races for ten years. 2008 is also when he won Vuelta a España points classification.

The French all-rounder Tejay Van Garderen is the third top rider you should know about. He is known for winning multiple stages across all three major races. His best career achievement is young rider classification win in Tour de France 2012.

Bet on BMC Racing Team at Bethard

BMC Racing Team 2018

BMC Racing Team will send eight riders to this year’s Tour de France. The team has already confirmed the selected members. They are:

  • Richie Porte
  • Greg Van Avermaet
  • Tejay Van Garderen
  • Damiano Caruso
  • Simon Gerrans
  • Michael Schar
  • Stefan Kung
  • Patrick Bevin

Aside from these riders, BMC could have chosen from:

  • Alberto Bettiol
  • Nicolas Roche
  • Tom Bohli
  • Jurgen Roelandts
  • Joey Rosskopf
  • Brent Bookwalter
  • Miles Scotson
  • Alessandro De Marchi
  • Dylan Tenus
  • Rohan Dennis
  • Jean-Pierre Drucker
  • Kilian Frankiny
  • Nathan Van Hooydonck
  • Francisco Ventoso
  • Loïc Vleigen
  • Danilo Wyss

This is the current full roster of the riders in the BMC Racing Team. Unfortunately, the BMC Racing Team’s future is in doubt.

They are struggling to find a sponsor for the 2019 season, for one thing. Ochowicz has been quoted recently as saying “I have no money”. This is a worrying time for the BMC racing team, but they remain hopeful of securing a sponsor.

Regardless of the troubles off the road, the BMC Racing Team could still cause a stir on the road. With Richie Porte in the team, they could even win this year’s Tour De France.

Bet on BMC Racing Team at Bet365

BMC Racing Team History

The BMC racing team is a UCI WorldTeam registered in the United States. The team was founded in 2007 by the Swiss business man Andy Rihs. He owned the BMC Racing Team up until his death in April of this year.

The team is now co-owned by two people. The American cyclist Jim Ochowicz is the general manager. His co-owner Allan Peiper is the team manager

The BMC racing team really came into prominence in the 2010 season. That’s when they signed a number of top class international riders. These included:

  • George Hincapie
  • Alessandro Ballan
  • Karsten Kroon
  • Marcus Burghardt
  • and most impressively of all, Cadel Evans

In 2011, the BMC racing team achieved their greatest feat. Cadel Evans, who had twice finished as runner-up in 2008 and 2009, won Tour De France. In 2013, Evans finished a very respectable third in the Giro d’Italia with the BMC Racing Team.

Since then, BMC racing team has enjoyed success. But they have never really been in the running for the major prizes in cycling. We’ll see if that changes this July.