Combativity Award

The combativity award (or Prix de la combativité) is awarded to the most aggressive rider during the Tour de France race. It recognizes the rider who has made the greatest effort, or demonstrated the best qualities of sportsmanship during the race.

There is a winner chosen for each stage of the Tour de France as well as a “super combativity” winner, which is selected at the end of the three-week long Tour de France race.

Bet on Tour de France at Bethard

Judges Of The Combativity Award

Since 2003, the award is awarded based on the decision of a jury. The jury is made up of eight specialists in cycling—ranging from former riders, journalists and the race technical director Thierry Gouvenou. These jury members decide the winner on a daily basis for each stage of the race, excluding time trials.

The winner is chosen based on each player’s number of attacks during the day, total distance in breakaway groups, checkpoints wins and outright stage wins. Unlike the other Tour prizes, the most aggressive rider does not necessarily have to complete the race.

On one occasion in 1961, the award was not given to an individual cyclist, but to an entire team—West-South-West.

Since 2016, social media users get to have a say as well. The public submits nominations via Twitter on the two rest days; the rider who secures the most retweets will be nominated for the final vote. Finally, the public votes on the most aggressive rider on the final day in Paris.

What's The Prize?

The rider who wins the combativity award at each stage gets to wear a special bib on the following race day. His rider’s back bib would display white numbers on a red background, instead of the usual black on white.

Whoever wins the daily combativity award during each road stage gets €2,000 each day while the overall ‘super combativity’ prize winner pockets €20,000.

Bet on Tour de France at Bet365

History Of The Combativity Award

The prize was first awarded in 1952. Back then, there was a points classification system where each rider was given a score for aggression on each stage.

The cyclist with the most points at the end of the Tour was declared winner.

Previous Winners Of The Combativity Award

Eddy Merckx of Belgium holds the record for most wins of this award, with four of them under his belt. Most recently, Warren Barguil of France took the award.

Year Country Rider Team
1953 Netherlands Wout Wagtmans Netherlands
1954 France Lucien Lazaridès (victory shared with François Mahé) France South-East
1954 France François Mahé (victory shared with Lucien Lazaridès) France West
1955 Luxembourg Charly Gaul Luxembourg/Mixed
1956 France André Darrigade France
1957 France Nicolas Barone France Île-de-France
1958 Spain Federico Bahamontes Spain
1959 France Gérard Saint France West South-West
1960 France Jean Graczyk France
1961 France Team award France West South-West
1962 Belgium Eddy Pauwels Wiel's–Groene Leeuw
1963 Belgium Rik Van Looy G.B.C.–Libertas
1964 France Henry Anglade Pelforth–Sauvage–Lejeune
1965 Italy Felice Gimondi Salvarani
1966 West Germany Rudi Altig Molteni
1967 France Désiré Letort France
1968 France Roger Pingeon France A
1969 Belgium Eddy Merckx Faema
1970 Belgium Eddy Merckx Faemino–Faema
1971 Spain Luis Ocaña Bic
1972 France Cyrille Guimard Gan–Mercier–Hutchinson
1973 Spain Luis Ocaña Bic
1974 Belgium Eddy Merckx Molteni
1975 Belgium Eddy Merckx Molteni–RYC
1976 France Raymond Delisle Peugeot–Esso–Michelin
1977 Netherlands Gerrie Knetemann TI–Raleigh
1978 Belgium Paul Wellens TI–Raleigh–McGregor
1979 Netherlands Hennie Kuiper TI–Raleigh–McGregor
1980 France Christian Levavasseur Miko–Mercier–Vivagel
1981 France Bernard Hinault Renault–Elf–Gitane
1982 France Régis Clère COOP–Mercier–Mavic
1983 Switzerland Serge Demierre Cilo–Aufina
1984 France Bernard Hinault La Vie Claire
1985 Netherlands Maarten Ducrot Lotto
1986 France Bernard Hinault La Vie Claire
1987 France Régis Clère Teka
1988 France Jérôme Simon Z–Peugeot
1989 France Laurent Fignon Super U–Raleigh–Fiat
1990 Spain Eduardo Chozas ONCE
1991 Italy Claudio Chiappucci Carrera Jeans–Tassoni
1992 Italy Claudio Chiappucci Carrera Jeans–Vagabond
1993 Italy Massimo Ghirotto ZG Mobili
1994 Italy Eros Poli Mercatone Uno–Medeghini
1995 Colombia Hernán Buenahora Kelme–Sureña
1996 France Richard Virenque Festina–Lotus
1997 France Richard Virenque Festina–Lotus
1998 France Jacky Durand Casino–Ag2r
1999 France Jacky Durand Lotto–Mobistar
2000 Netherlands Erik Dekker Rabobank
2001 France Laurent Jalabert CSC–Tiscali
2002 France Laurent Jalabert CSC–Tiscali
2003 Kazakhstan Alexander Vinokourov Team Telekom
2004 France Richard Virenque Quick-Step–Davitamon
2005 Spain Óscar Pereiro Phonak
2006 Spain David de la Fuente Saunier Duval–Prodir
2007 Spain Amets Txurruka Euskaltel–Euskadi
2008 France Sylvain Chavanel Cofidis
2009 Italy Franco Pellizotti[n 1] Liquigas
2010 France Sylvain Chavanel Quick-Step
2011 France Jérémy Roy FDJ
2012 Denmark Chris Anker Sørensen Saxo Bank–Tinkoff Bank
2013 France Christophe Riblon Ag2r–La Mondiale
2014 Italy Alessandro De Marchi Cannondale
2015 France Romain Bardet AG2R La Mondiale
2016 Slovakia Peter Sagan Tinkoff
2017 France Warren Barguil Team Sunweb